A leading source for news and analysis about Mexico and the U.S.-Mexican border.

Monday, March 11, 2013

PRI leadership disqualifies many seeking nomination for state legislature posts, causing uproar

     The leadership of the Institutional Revolutionary Party has disqualified many seeking the party's nomination for state legislature posts on technical grounds, causing an uproar among those disqualified, Frontera reported.
     Among those rejected was Dr. Gloria Rosa Arellano, who was seeking the nomination in the District 3 race. She had sought to make payments to keep her account current with the PRI last week, but said she was unable to do so because no one was in PRI offices to take her money.
      The disqualifications leave the PRI's coalition with "unity" candidates for the July 7 election against a National Action Party-led coalition.
     Story, Frontera (PDF).
Update, March 12: Alfredo Amaro Mata of Rosarito complains about denied registration. Story, El Mexicano (PDF). Story, Frontera (PDF).


Sunday, March 10, 2013

Commotion, including breaking of glass in a door, greets registration of candidates for PRI nomination for state legislature posts in Mexicali

       A commotion in which some PRIistas apparently came to blows and glass in a door was broken in Mexicali greeted Saturday's registration of candidates for the Institutional Revolutionary Party nomination for Baja California state legislature posts, Frontera newspaper reported.

       Some candidates indicated that they were being discriminated against by not being "favored' candidates, the paper said. One woman running for the PRI nomination for a Mexicali district said PRI offices had not been open all week, denying her the opportunity to pay back dues in order to qualify for the contest for the PRI nomination. Dr. Rosa Gloria Arellano was one of several candidates to register for Mexicali's 3rd District, but it was unclear whether her candidacy would be ultimately accepted.

      The PRI will field candidates in four districts in Mexicali, six in Tijuana, and one each in Tecate, Rosarito and Ensenada; coalition partners will choose the candidates in five other districts.

      Only four district races will be uncontested:
Nereida Fuentes González is the only candidate in Tecate District 7, Tijuana Councilwoman Franciscana Krauss is the only candidate in Tijuana District 10, Humberto Rodríguez Robledo is the only candidate in Tijuana District 8, and Jorge Tsutsumi is the only contender in Tijuana District 13.

     For Tijuana District 9, followers of Sergio Moctezuma Martínez López loudly complained that Councilman Miriam Ayón Castro was the favored candidate, Frontera reported. Four of his followers dressed as Aztec warriors.

Story, Frontera (PDF). Story, El Mexicano (PDF). Jump.