A leading source for news and analysis about Mexico and the U.S.-Mexican border.

Tuesday, Oct. 1, 2013

New Baja California legislature takes office; former right-hand man to governor elected legislature's first president; governor to deliver final state-of-the-state address this evening

cuauhtemoc cardona         The 21st Baja California legislature took office today; the 25-member body will serve through Sept. 30, 2016. It unanimously elected the National Action Party's Cuauhtémoc Cardona (right), formerly the right-hand man of Gov. José Guadalupe Osuna Millán, as its first president. The position rotates.

         Other top officials in the new legislature are Armando Reyes Ledesma of the Workers Party as vice president, José Alberto Martínez Carrillo of the New Alliance Party as secretary, Nereida Fuentes González of the Institutional Revoutionary Party as assistant secretary, and Fausto García Gallardo of the Green Party as recording secretary.

          The 20th legislature, elected in 2010, was dominated by the PRI and its allies, who thought they was going to win the governor's race this year for the first time since 1983; however, former Tijuana Mayor Francisco Vega of the PAN won instead. The new legislature is more evenly balanced, with the PAN coalition with 12 seats, the PRI coalition with 11 and two for the Citizens Movement. One Citizens Movement legislator formerly served in the legislature with the PAN.

          This evening, Millán will deliver his sixth and final state-of-the-state address in Mexicali. Vega takes office Nov. 1.
Story, El Mexicano.

Cartoon about the outgoing legislature, El Mexicano (PDF).